Deploy Rasa In Docker

Hi all, I’m new to Rasa and Docker. I have created a bot that asks user information and it stores in the database and also it fetches details from the database. I’m using postgresql for database. I want to deploy my rasa project in docker. Could anyone explain more in detail how to do that. thanks in advance. @jonathanpwheat

@Shan Are you using window, mac or Ubuntu.

@nik202 Windows

@Shan Do you have any prior docker experience?

@Shan Install docker desktop, create the rasa project in VS code. Check the rasa docker image.

@nik202 I don’t have. Anyway I try that and get back to you.

@Shan I will encourage please do some basic, beginner course or tutorial on docker, at least to know what are the process and commands and syntax used and for what process, else it will be very complex for you. This is only my suggestion, take it or leave it. Good Luck!

1 Like

Hi @nik202

Dockerfile

FROM rasa/rasa
COPY . /chatbot
WORKDIR /chatbot
RUN pip install -r requirements.txt
USER root
COPY ./actions /app/actions
USER 1001

this is my dockerfile is this correct? and I have a doubt what are libraries I should add in requirements.txt file.

@Shan No, you need to create the docker-compose file for the rasa. @Shan If you are using action.py for custom action and you using some outside libraries then you need to add that in requirenments.txt else you will see the error in logs you can add that. @Shan check this thread for your reference only Error starting action server on Docker - #5 by BELIEVEIT @Shan If further issue do let us know.

@nik202 how can I contact you privately.

@nik202 okay.do let me know when you are free

Hi @nik202. Could you explain more step by step instructions. Should I create a docker image before docker-compose?

@nik202 ?

@nik202 Don’t get me wrongly I was busy when you replied. this is my mail id shanthoshvijay16@gmail.com

what I understood for deployment from blogs and docker videos and tried like this.