What are the consequences for "rasa.core.lock_store - Deleted lock for conversation"?

Hi all,

I’m not sure whether I ever have seen this DEBUG in local mode but in deployment, I see this DEBUG message and do not really know what it refers to and what the “lock” is for.

DEBUG rasa.core.lock_store - Deleted lock for conversation

First, I though it has something to do with the tracker store. But my tracker store still stores the conversation correctly. Can someone please explain to me what this lock is for and why it gets deleted all the time? Is that the way it is supposed to be?

Many thanks!

Hi @MelT,

This is a default behavior in the debug mode, irrespective of the environment.

Rasa uses a ticket lock mechanism to ensure that incoming messages for a given conversation ID are processed in the right order, and locks conversations while messages are actively processed. This means multiple Rasa servers can be run in parallel as replicated services, and clients do not necessarily need to address the same node when sending messages for a given conversation ID. You can read more about it in Lock stores.

1 Like