Sending Proactive notifications to user, getting user input and updating backend database on the fly

Dear Community members, I am working on a RASA chatbot prototype as a part of my Master Thesis. I am new to this technology. Here is the scenario - we have applications inventory. In which each application has different fields like the person responsible, application lifecycle, description, OS, etc. Now I need to implement a chatbot that accesses the data from this inventory and asks the responsible person to complete the missing fields via Microsoft Teams chat. I can get application data and quality gaps using REST API.

Could you please guide me through this use case. I am thinking to send missing fields as push notifications when the responsible person is online, get the user input, and update the backend on the fly. I have gone through the Rasa documentation, but I am stuck like how should I start the implementation. Does anyone have experience with a similar kind of use case or project. It would be a great help. Thank you in advance!!

Hi @kishor09, assuming you have set up getting the data from Microsoft teams, and finding out if a person is online, you can use external events to send notifications to the person when they’re online, and you could use forms to prompt for the missing information. You could fill the slots in the form using the data you already have so that it only prompts for missing info.

You could take a look at the reminderbot example.