Rasa_nlu server for RASA Talk: rasa_nlu train Training Exception Can not train an empty pipeline

Hello everyone, I am new to the RASA Stack and have downloaded a GitHub project created by jackdh called RASA Talk, based on Rasa_nlu, React, and Mongodb. Here’s the link to it: https://github.com/jackdh/RasaTalk After setting up my rasa_nlu file (based on the rasa starter pack), and connecting the NLU backend with the project, I was unable to train my model after adding intents, utterances, and entities. The NLU server keeps throwing the following error every time I try to train a model:

" rasa_nlu.data_router - [Failure instance: Traceback (failure with no frames): <class ‘rasa_nlu.train.TrainingException’>: Can not train an empty pipeline. Make sure to specify a proper pipeline in the configuration using the pipeline key.The backend configuration key is NOT supported anymore. "

On my NLU project, I have the following nlu_config.yml file:

language: "en"

pipeline: "spacy_sklearn"

So my pipeline should be set up, especially that I did use it to train a model before setting a project as a server.

I also get the following in the console:

Has anyone else ever encountered this error ? Thank you!

1 Like

If it is linked to particular project, i suggest you create an issue in the repo of the user since he is best suited to answer your query

Thank you, I have done that. But I also wanted to know if anyone from the RASA community has encountered a similar empty pipeline error, just in case it could be insightful.

1 Like

It could be possible, that the script you are using from the code of the above may need more information regarding the path for your config.

how are you training the model? what is the command used

Hello @souvikg10 After communicating with the project’s creator, it appears that this is indeed a Rasa NLU problem: