Rasa + Django connect to the view (Front end)

Hello everyone, I’m new in the chatbot world and I’m trying to create one that, among other things, can manage the view of a web created with Django. With the chat widget rasa-webchat I have managed to connect and chat with the bot through socket.io, but I don’t know how I can get that calling a Custom Action updates the view, for example: refreshing the page, redirecting to another view, that is, calling a django endpoint to change the view in the browser… I don’t know if this is possible with Rasa.

In case it’s useful, I’m using Rasa 2.1.2, since higher versions were not compatible with WebChat and/or the connection with Sockets didn’t work.

I don’t know if there would be any way to achieve this by sending some information next to the initPayload, or in the metadata of the messages, or by calling and receiving some kind of Event through the sockets (although being connected through WebChat, I wouldn’t know how to do it).

If someone gives me a hand I will be very grateful.

Let me check first and let you know. I think you have read more about that Please read blog and article of that so you will be more information of that.

Hi @edu_vives welcome to the community.

It would be much easier if you could share some part of the code with us.

I believe it is more of a javascript than a rasa question. if you are using webchat, I believe there is a javascript plugin that receives and sends message to the bot, if so, the JS plugin should be able to read the text and perform actions based on specific texts

1 Like

Apologies for the previous deleted comment, I was having problems with the forum.

The code I have is quite simple, the implementation of the Rasa Webchat:

A Custom Action called ActionLogout.

class ActionLogout(Action):

def name(self) -> Text:
        return "action_logout"

def run(self, dispatcher: CollectingDispatcher,
            tracker: Tracker,