Rasa Button Payload and User Response

Hello Rasa Community,

I apologize if this was posted before…

I am extremely new to chat bots and I am currently trying to program one that mimics a barista at a coffee shop. So I have an utterance with a button: utter_help_customer:

• buttons:
    • title: Coffee payload: ‘/drink{“drink”: “Coffee”}’

I already have an intent:

intent:drink

• coffee please … and other variations of this phrase

intent:drink{“drink”:“Coffee”}

• coffee please … and other variations of this phrase

So, in Rasa X, when I clicked the button for coffee, it came back as: /drink{“drink”: “Coffee”}

I am looking for “Coffee please” or one of the variations in my intents.

Hopefully I am making sense here. Again, I apologize for asking really stupid questions here.

2 Likes

Hello @Eli,

Welcome to the forum, your question is absolutely fine, no worry :smiley:

In Rasa X, when you clicked the button it displayed the payload because that the intented behavior. “/drink” meant that the intent drink is provoke and “{drink: Coffee}” mean the slot drink is assigned the value “Coffee”. That’s the exact flow of actions if an user said “coffee please”. But because the user didn’t type a message, but click on the button, therefore the payload got executed without needing to predict user’s message, and Rasa X print that payload out.

If you build a custom UI, then you can control how the user’s message is displayed when they click on the button. Rasa X is simply designed to do it that way (from what i know).

3 Likes

Thank you so much for the response. I am wondering how I could get the user response to just show Coffee when the button is pressed rather than the actual slot. Does a custom action need to be in place for this?

1 Like