Performance decline on implementing more intents

I am new to Rasa. I have the following problems: As my bot (intent) grows, I begin to see some problems (drop) with its performances

1. I have a scenario where the implementation of newer intents affects the performance of previous intents
  2. Even at that if I implement a new intent or some intents, I try it first on the same nlu data it was trained on but sometimes I get the response I set in the nlu_fallback.

Why is this happening? My bot works well previously but like I mentioned, with more intents, the performance begins to decline.

1 Like

Hello Charles,

Thank you for your question and welcome to Rasa! :slight_smile: It looks like your new intent is not recognised by Rasa NLU. If you would like to share some examples from your training data (nlu.yml, stories.yml and domain.yml) that would be helpful. Also what language do you use?

Some very first tips to try to debug would be the following :

• Try to run with --debug flag to see what NLU is doing (as already mentioned here also)
  • Add enough examples (in nlu.yml and stories.yml) so that the model can generalise correctly
  • The pipeline that you use also affects the classification so be careful on that too (an example can be found here)
  • If your intents are similar you can also use entities to distinguish as noted here

Since you are new to Rasa, a very insightful blog post about intent classification is this one and maybe to have a better understanding on the Rasa pipeline you could also check this one.

Thank you for your response. I understand adding more examples to your nlu.yml but I do not for stories.yml. Basically, for each intent, I normally include just one scenario. something like,

• story: show the covid testing cost steps:

• intent: testing_costs
    • action: utter_testing_costs
  • story: show fines and penalties steps:

• intent: fines_penalties
    • action: utter_fines_penalties
  • story: show covid prevention measures steps: