How do stories work?

Hi all, so I’m new to rasa and I had a question about stories. I just ran rasa init --no-prompt and had the moodbot. I noticed one of the stories was ‘say goodbye’ which utters goodbye when the user says a ‘goodbye’ intent. I deleted this story, trained with ‘rasa train’ and then started the bot and said something from the ‘goodbye’ intent. I noticed that the bot responds with the same thing as before I deleted that story. The only other place the bot can utter goodbye is at the END of a different story

My question is, are stories followed in order? Why can the bot still utter_goodbye at the very beginning of our conversation even if that isn’t a standalone story and it only appears at the END of sad path 2? Don’t I have to follow sad path 2 to get the bot to utter goodbye? Also, if the bot can jump around and reply with ‘goodbye’ because it sees it in another story, what is the point of creating a standalone story just for goodbye?

I’d appreciate any help, thanks!

1 Like

Hi @juncrendi, thank you for your question!

By default, Rasa Core (the component that predicts the next action and learns from stories) is configured with the TED policy, which is a machine learning algorithm. Mood Bot is very simple and TED might be able to generalize correctly from just those few examples, even though it has never seen this exact dialogue. Once you introduce more intents and actions, and make your bot more complex, you’ll need more stories to train on so that this kind of generalizations still works.

1 Like

hello @j.mosig, thanks for your response, however I am not sure I fully understand.

What you are saying is that it is able to jump around because there are not enough intents and stories? I was confused with how it was able to jump to the last intent of the story without following the the first parts of the story. Is the story not a rigid structure that rasa has to follow? If it isn’t a rigid structure, what is the point of having stories?