Bot-initiated notifications (again)

This issue has been brought up a lot here, but I haven’t seen a clear response. I’m new to Rasa, so sorry if the answer is obvious.

My use case requires that the bot proactively sends messages to users based on external events in my application. These are not scheduled events. e.g., if an event occurs that impacts a customer, I would like to notify them with a message and then allow them to continue the dialog in Rasa’s normal request/reply model.

User: Hi.
Bot: Welcome to the asteroid alert system. You will be notified when an asteroid is heading toward earth.
User: Great
Bot: OK, we’ll stay in touch
<An arbitrary amount of time passes when the bot’s asteroid detection system triggers>
Bot: Hey, an asteroid is heading towards the planet. It’s been nice knowing you.
User: :frowning:

So what the best approach to send this message to the user?

1 Like

Hi @mmm3bbb,

Due to the single-turn dialogue system used by Rasa Core, the bot can’t send the user a message while it is performing action_listen.

With that in mind, I think the best approach would be to have this external notification system send a message to the rasa endpoint which triggers a custom action to dispatch a warning and return a UserUtteranceReverted() event. You can accomplish this with the MappingPolicy

1 Like

Thanks Tom. I will dig into API this week, but can you clarify the bit about dispatching a “warning”? Is this the message I want the bot to send to the user?

Also, I’m unclear about the sequence of execution. As I read it, UserUtteranceReverted() will revert all events to the point right before my external service sent the message. But doesn’t that include the BotUttered event as well? (In other words, how do I remove the fake user message but not the real bot response?).

Yes, by warning I meant the bot message, i.e. “Hey, an asteroid is heading towards the planet. It’s been nice knowing you”