Which is the correct way to customize an existing channel?

Hi. I’m making a bot for telegram. I need the functionality to delete a message and to send local files, and since I’m not an expert on python, I have to modify the site packages directly.

So in rasa\core\channels\telegram.py I did the following changes:

1. Added ("delete",): "delete_message", and ("local",): "send_local_document", to the send_functions dictionary in the function TelegramOutput.send_custom_json.

2. Added message_id=msg.message_id to every call of UserMessage in the function TelegramInput.message.

In telegram\bot.py i added:

def send_local_document(self, chat_id, document, filename=None, caption=None, disable_notification=False, reply_to_message_id=None, reply_markup=None, timeout=20, parse_mode=None, thumb=None, **kwargs):

self.send_document(chat_id, open(document, 'rb'), filename, caption, disable_notification, reply_to_message_id, reply_markup, timeout, parse_mode, thumb)

With these changes I can use

attachment = {"local": path}
dispatcher.utter_custom_json(attachment)

to upload a file to telegram and send it and I can use

ldte = tracker.events_after_latest_restart()
for item in reversed(ldte):
	if item["event"] == "user":
		if "message_id" in item:
			attachment = {"delete":int(item["message_id"])}
			dispatcher.utter_custom_json(attachment)
		break

to get an user message id and delete it (the second “if” is to prevent errors in tests using shell or interactive). This works, but overwriting the packages looks like a problematic idea. So what would be the correct way to customize a channel to add this functionality?