Training a model i

Hello, I am new to coding and I am working on a bot from scratch, I have read the documentation but I am missing how I can train a model. I understood the two options “Markdown” and “JSON” but I am not sure where to train the model. Should I create a file (not sure which would be the extension for that file) and then call it within Python? I am sure it is a very basic question but I have not been able to find the answer in the documentation. Thanks in advance.

Hey Juan. To train NLU model from scratch you will need two files:

• nlu training data file (markdown or json which will have .md or .json extensions respectively)
  • a configuration file (with .yml extension)

So let’s say you create a directory for you project called rasa_bot. Inside that directory you should put those two files (let’s say you saved your configuration file as nlu_config.yml and training data file as nlu.md and then in your terminal you can train the model using this function:

python -m rasa_nlu.train -c nlu_config.yml --data nlu.md -o models --fixed_model_name nlu --project current --verbose

This function trains the model by calling rasa nlu train function and passes configuration file as well as data file. Aslo, with fixed_model_name parameter you can set a fixed name for your model (in this example we call it nlu) and also we set the name for our project current. Parameters verbose prints our the training results as the training functions does its job.

I would also suggest you going through the quickstart on Rasa nlu docs, this shows the process step by step and you can try it all out there or save the code and run it locally on your machine: http://rasa.com/docs/nlu/quickstart/

@Juste Thank you very much for your answer I was indeed looking someplace else! will try the docs exercises. Best regards,

Juan Sandino

@Juste thanks again, I tired the exercises but got an error in step 3. Train your Machine Learning NLU model. when using the line: