Selecting a Value from mulitple Values that have been retrieved through an API Call without prior knowledge over the values

Hey there, I’m quite new to Rasa and the Rasa Community, so apologies in advance if this is a stupid question, but I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around it.

Imagine the following scenario: In the first step the Bot is retrieving values from a database given a key through the user. In the next step the Bot shows the user the values, that have been stored in a list_slot(?) through the custom action. Now the user wants to select an option.

Whats a good way for the user to select an option without having prior knowledge over what values the list might contain? Is there an option to make these values clickable for the user? How about the usage of text given that we don’t know what the values might look like - that’s not really possible is it? Because we never trained the model on these unknown values, or can I still somehow use the NLU to find the closest fitting word compared to the values?

This problem feels rough to me and I haven’t come up with an elegant solution so far. I appreciate any help I can get very much.

Hi @pdeek, as far as I understand for every user you are maintaining a key and also list of values for that key in the database. When the user first interacts with the bot, based on the key of the user we need to display list of options that are stored in database or list slot. User has to choose one of the option and the story has to continue.

If I understand it clearly, it is completely possible with Rasa. You need to override action_session_start method of rasa default actions to fetch the list of options about the user and display them through buttons and payloads.

If it seems overcomplicated, I am sorry. But yeah, it can be done.

Uday