Integrate Rasa in a humanoid Robot

Hello everyone,

I’m a newbie regarding Chatbots, Python and especially in projects on that scale of using all those different skills in combination. Still, I think it’s a highly interesting topic and maybe some of you are interested in helping me along the long and bumpy path till success.

As a student project I am currently trying to use Rasa to significantly improve the “intelligence” of a humanoid Robot - Pepper. It isn’t quite easy because I’m not really a tech / computer science student so I have to learn a lot. However, here is my plan and the goal:

The goal is to „make“ Pepper able to respond to a lot of questions regarding my university. Basically the manufacturer of Pepper provides kind of an IDE to script his intelligence. Script. There isn’t real intelligence. I can define some synonyms and optional parts in some sentences, but all in all I have to define every spoken and - sadly - understandable word for Pepper. That’s not quite smart. So I was thinking of using something more brilliant: Rasa.

I thought it would be clever to train Rasa all the necessary stuff and especially using a knowledge base.

As I explained in the beginning I’m not an IT crack which means there are some challenges, which are feeling like Mount Everests I have to face:

1. I have to customize my actions to get the right kind of answers based on the knowledge base. Solution: Learning Python, understand the Action documentation and customize them.
  2. I have to get familiar with the - from my perspective - highly complex way to use the API to solve the communication between Pepper and Rasa. Just to explain: I thought the user could talk with Pepper. Pepper would pass the grasped sentence in the form of a text to the API, Rasa figures out the answer and pass it back to Pepper who would speak it out for the user. Sounds so easy to describe :wink:.