How to modularize multi branching sequence

Hi, I’m new to Rasa, and I’ve seen several examples in the [docs] (Writing Conversation Data) about how to manage conversation flow, but I’m not sure how those generalize to more complex branching, or what’s the underlying design principle to follow.

Let’s take an example:

• A bot that provides technical support that checks if the user has tried a series of steps before, only branching to guide the user through those steps if they haven’t tried them yet. Eg ‘did you try to reboot your pc?’ -> ‘yes’, ‘did you scan for viruses?’ -> ‘yes’, ‘did you run diagnostics?’-> ‘no’, ‘then do this, and this… is it resolved now?’, etc.

In this cases, I imagine having to write positive and negative cases for every question. If I write each posible path from begining to the moment the problem is solved (or there’s no more questions) then id have to repeat a lot of parts (big chunks of stories) multiple times.

I have some ideas, but don’t know if they’re correct.

• Using lots of checkpoints. The docs say to not overuse them, or reserve them to pieces used multiple times. Here each checkpoint would be used 2 times I think, but I don’t know what’s the specific problem with that. If, during training, checkpoints are combined into all possible branches, that would be fine, that’s precisely what I want to avoid doing manually. And I’m not sure what the problem with readability is either (any modularization creates some readibility concerns).
  • Using separate intents for each ‘yes’ or ‘no’ answer, for example with buttons that give a specific intent as payload. Doesn’t seem very elegant, specially considering that writing the same answer as the buttons would break it. But it would allow chaining rules.
  • Rules with conditions for slots. But that would require generating lots of different slots for the same two answers, which I think would require a lot of custom actions.