How to include context in intent detection?

Hi, I’m new to Rasa and trying to figure out the concepts and best practices. From my understanding the intent detection process is completely separate from the dialog/context management process - am I correct?

If so, that means that the intent detection does not include any context and every user input must map to just one intent. This is a very limiting constraint, and I’m not sure how to model many conversation flows - especially question-oriented conversations where the answers can be short/generic.

How would you model the following conversation?

User: Hi, I want to take your quiz
Bot: OK. First question: Do you like cats?
User: yes
Bot: Do you have a cat?
User: I have two cats

The problem is that for the second question, the user may respond with “yes” instead. So it looks like there should be a shared intent between these answers. However, the utterance “I have two cats” is not a logical answer for “Do you like cats?”, so I can’t just create an intent with both of these examples.

It doesn’t seem possible to elegantly solve this problem without using context information in the intent detection phase. Is there a solution I’m missing? What is the accepted way of handling short/generic responses, where the meaning is derived from the context?

2 Likes

It doesn’t seem like an unusual scenario. How are people not struggling with this with virtually any Rasa Form? When you ask a question, you can’t expect the user to answer with enough information all the time. They answer with context, so we’ll have to analyze their input using the “context” of the conversation (can be as simple as “these intents are only relevant after this response/when trying to fill a certain slot from intent”) in order to process even the simplest of examples…