How can I deploy chatbot with nginx

I want to take the chatbot live in microsoft teams. my company wouldn’t let me use ngrok. so I set up virtual machine and also requested webserver for nginx. But I don’t know how to configure it. I have a few questions about this topic. Note: I don’t want to use Docker.

1. How do I run rasa on nginx hosted url instead of running it on my local? Should I make changes on the backend? Where should I make a change?
  2. During the integration with teams, is it enough to write nginx’s server ip number for the host, 5005 in the port in https:// host : port /webhooks/ botframework /webhook? Do you need to do anything extra?

I’m new to these things, I would be very happy if you could help me step by step. :slight_smile: Thank you so much.

I can help you halfway, never integrated with Teams, but using Nginx. Also I don’t run Nginx in docker container. I can help you to with Nginx, but what Teams wants and how it is connected, I don’t know.

Have you looked this?

Integrate Rasa bot with microsoft teams - #15 by amir

If you could help me with nginx, I would be very happy, at least I would have done that part.

Ok, what is your developing environment?

I am using visual studio code for IDE

ok, so where you running Visual Studio. Windows? Linux? Apple? Own computer? Cloudserver?

It is runnig on Windows . installed on my own computer, also in a virtual machine.

ok, you first test it in virtual machine (Oracle Virtuabox?) but is your final chatbot running in your windows machine or where?

I made the developments from my own computer on Windows. But the chatbot will run on a virtual machine (VMware) in a live environment. And test will also be in virtual machine

ok, then you should same OS in your developing environment than in running VMvare, so what is OS there?

there is also the OS Windows

Even I don’t recommend windows as development environment, follow this tutorial to install Nginx to Windows