Easy way to integrate a database into a chatbot

Hi,

I want to integrate a database and look up values based on an entity the user gave me. How is this possible? Is there a detailed guide anywhere to follow?

I am pretty new in the whole chatbot space. Sorry if this might seem like a naive question.

Thank you so much!

Hi, I’m actually looking at the same thing. I didn’t find any detailed guides. You have to do it using custom actions. Make APIs calls to access your database. I found some links which people have implemented. Try looking at them:

1 Like

Hey, thank you for your reply. Yeah I am having a bit troubles finding the correct API commands in order to retrieve Info from the database. I will have a look at the links maybe I can find something to find some orientation. Thank you :slight_smile:

I don’t think this is really Rasa-related since you can use pymysql (for MySQL obviously :smiley:) & others, or an ORM such as SQLAlchemy to do this. For example, for returning the first name of a person in a database from an “ID” entity, things could look like this:

def read(id_person: int) -> Person:
    db = pymysql.connect(SERVER, USER, PASSWORD, DB)
    cursor = db.cursor()
    sql = "SELECT * FROM PERSON WHERE ID = '%d'" % (id_person)
    try:
        cursor.execute(sql)
        results = cursor.fetchall()
        for row in results:
            first_name = row[1]
            last_name = row[2]
            age = row[3]
            sex = row[4]
            income = row[5]
            person = Person(id_person, first_name, last_name, age, sex, income)
    except:
        print("Error fetching data.")
    finally:
        db.close()
    return person

If the ID is in a slot, you can easily pass it to the read function using the tracker.get_slot function and then get the person object in return. Then using the dispatcher you could simply pass person.first_name in the response.

1 Like