Custom Actions - Create Excel File with Data from Rasa

Hello,

I am new to RASA and i have a small bot to create that interacts with user, ask a question and stock all these enswers in an Excel file/sheet.

Is it possible with RASA? How can i do it ?

Thank you

Use a FormAction to get all the information you need. Once all information is collected, it runs the ‘submit’-method, where youre free to do whatever you want. In your case, the easiest way is to write a csv-File, which can be easily loaded into Excel.

2 Likes

Thank you for your reply.

As i am new to rasa i might need a little clarification on how to transfer the user input of a slot , add it to a variable , and send it as a parameter to the create CSV class in the actions. If you have any tips or hints i would love to take them.

Your help is much appreciated .

Here’s everything you need

hi, i also wish to know how to add user input into a file, in this case is excel. Have you figure out the way? thanks.

Try to use: pandas.DataFrame.to_csv — pandas 0.25.3 documentation

import os
import pandas as pd

Data = {'Name':  ['Rasa'],
        'E-mail': ['rasa@rasa.com'],
        }

df = pd.DataFrame(Data, columns = ['Name','E-mail'])

if not os.path.isfile('/home/youruse/output1070000.csv'):
   df.to_csv('/home/youruse/output1070000.csv',index = False, header='columns')
else: # else it exists so append without writing the header
   df.to_csv('/home/youruse/output1070000.csv',index = False, mode='a', header=False)
1 Like

How can I fetch data from an Excel database or MySQL database in RASA chatbot?

That’s not a specific problem for rasa. You’re pretty much free to write any code in a custom action. So if you know how to do that in python in general you pretty much solved your problem. I have no experience importing from MySQL or Excel in python myself, but I’m absolutely sure, that there are Python packages, which do most of the work you.