Can a custom action influence or divert from a story

Hello,

I’m new with Rasa and I am wondering if there’s a possibility of creating a custom action that can influence (or divert) a story.

Here is what I’m trying to do. I have two stories, story1 and story2, on story 2 I want to check if the user has already gone through story1, if not, the user is notified and the remaining steps on story2 are not executed. Is that possible?

Thank you

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Sadly, there is no direct way to know whether or not the user “went through” a story.

What you can do is execute a custom action at the end of story, which will set a slot. And it is that slot that will show whether or not that story happened.

In story2, you can use slot_was_set to branch off to different paths.

Chris, Thanks for you reply. I guess I didn’t formulate my question precisely. What I want to do is to implement a custom action that can divert the conversation towards another intent. Take as an example the foloowing story:

- story: tell dirty joke
  steps:
  - intent: tell_dirty_joke
  - action: action_custom_can_tell_dirty_joke
  - action: utter_dirty_joke1
  - action: utter_dirty_joke2

As you can see, after the intent “tell_dirty_joke”, we trigger the custom action “action_custom_can_tell_dirty_joke” that should check (based on some algorithm) weather the bot should tell a joke or not, if the algorithm on the custom action rules the user can’t get a dirty joke, the bot will not execute “utter_dirty_joke1” and “utter_dirty_joke2”, but send a message, he can’t tell the joke now and say goodbye.

Obviously, this is just a example, but it serves to illustrate the general use case we have.

I have been looking on this forum and I have found this thread with a very similar need Trigger intent from custom action - #3 by Polaris000