Uppercase Cyrillic character

Hi all, I’m still new to rasa. I noticed strange error if the file (nlu.yml, nlu_*.yml) contains an uppercase Cyrillic ‘И’ character. Executable commands rasa [ shell | train | data validate ] fail. From version 2.1 to version 2.4 there were no problems. Last rows in from debug log: File “c:\users\rakis\anaconda3\envs\rasa_env\lib\encodings\cp1251.py”, line 23, in decode return codecs.charmap_decode(input,self.errors,decoding_table)[0] UnicodeDecodeError: ‘charmap’ codec can’t decode byte 0x98 in position 4089: character maps to On the example of the Russian alphabet Error:

• intent: inform examples: |
    • АБВГДЕЁЖЗИЙКЛМНОПРСТУФХЦЧШЩЪЫЬЭЮЯ

and works in lowercase ‘И’ character:

• intent: inform examples: |
    • АБВГДЕЁЖЗиЙКЛМНОПРСТУФХЦЧШЩЪЫЬЭЮЯ

rasa --version Rasa Version : 2.4.0 Rasa SDK Version : 2.4.0 Rasa X Version : None Python Version : 3.8.8 (also tried version 3.7.6) Operating System : Windows-10-10.0.19041-SP0 Python Path : c:\users\rakis\anaconda3\envs\rasa_env\python.exe

The rest of the project files are original, which are created by the command rasa init

P.S. I’m really trying to improve my English :slight_smile:

1 Like

You’ll want to save your training data files in UTF-8 encoding - the error indicates you’re using cp1251. If you’re using an IDE like VSCode or a text editor like Notepad++ you can make that the default (which I would recommend)

I have the same problem @mloubser:

In my case, the error says CP1252, but I checked all of my files, they’re all encoded UTF-8 according to VSCode.

Hi all. I’ve just tried to reproduce this issue and I can confirm that on my machine it seems to work fine. I’ve started a rasa init project with this example in the nlu.yml:

АБВГДЕЁЖЗИЙКЛМНОПРСТУФХЦЧШЩЪЫЬЭЮЯ

The rasa train command works fine on my machine and I have tried on Rasa 2.3.4 and 2.4.1. This makes me think that what you’re experiencing might be related to Windows.