Rasa X: [Kubernetes] Custom Pipline Element

Hi Rasa X Team, Hi everyone

I would like to have some advice on how to add a custom component in Kubernetes stack (I’m new to Kubernetes)

What I understand so far is that configuration are defined in rasa-config-files-configmap.yaml but are deployed with rasa-x-deployment.yaml. Rasa get back these configurations from Rasa-X thanks to the argument given to the Rasa container : --config-endpoint - "http://{{ include "rasa-x.fullname" $ }}-rasa-x:{{ default 5002 $.Values.rasax.port }}/api/config?token=$(RASA_X_TOKEN)"

Is that correct ?

I suppose that config.yml is not in rasa-config-files-configmap.yaml because this is something that is modified by the user thought the Raxa X UI, isn’t it ?

Do I need to create a custom image of the rasa sdk by adding my custom component in it ? Somewhat like in Rasa X: Custom Pipline Element

I’m using : Kubernetes ( rasa-x-1.2.7)

Thanks !

TL;DR;

Build your own rasa docker image like described in Rasa X: Custom Pipline Element - #2 by flythe

In the values.yml used when installing the helm chart, in the rasa section, override the property name and tag. Example for Google Cloud Registry :

rasa:
    name: "eu.gcr.io/PROJECT_NAME/REPO_NAME"
    tag: "TAG_OF_YOUR_IMAGE"

Long answer :

I’m gonna answer my own question. So to give a big picture of what I was trying to do.

I wanted to use my own existing NLU server (based on Flask server). Why ?

• Because my company use some internal ressources that can not be ported (for now ?)
  • Because we have the thing already working
  • Because we want to use the dialog manager part of Rasa

Being new to Rasa, Kubernetes, Helm made things really hard but the one step installation on the cloud was appealing so I sticked to it.

My first attempt : Doing it properly