Why is tensorflow required to deploy REST channel

Hi!

I’m new to RASA and machine learning in general, meaning I got it up and running and created a relatively simple bot with it, but I’m still fuzzy on the details about how exactly it works.

Because the CPUs on my own computers do not support AVX, and I wanted to use the supervised pipeline, I am at the moment doing my development on a VPS.

I had the assumption that once I had trained a model I was happy with, I would then be able to deploy the bot (using the REST channel for instance) on my outdated laptops, in other words I assumed tensorflow would only be a requirement to train the bot, but not to make it run. So you can imagine I was slightly disappointed when

docker run -v $(pwd)/models:/app/models rasa/rasa:latest run

gave me the good old

The TensorFlow library was compiled to use AVX instructions, but these aren't available on your machine. :sob:

My question is therefore two fold:

• Could someone explain why is tensorflow required at runtime ?
  • Is there anyway around it? :imp:
  • Or as an alternative, could one have a RASA core runtime depending on a tensorflow version prior to 1.5 - so it would not need AVX support - (I checked on Github, couldn’t find one), but using a model trained by the latest stable version of RASA and tensorflow ?

Thank you for your time!

Best regards.

1 Like

How does the warning:

The TensorFlow library was compiled to use AVX instructions, but these aren't available on your machine

stop you from using Rasa?

Hi, thanks for asking.

Because the docker container exits immediately after, I’m afraid this is more than a warning:

$ docker run -p 5005:5005 -v $(pwd)/models:/app/models rasa/rasa:latest run

2019-08-03 19:50:33.942955: F tensorflow/core/platform/cpu_feature_guard.cc:37] The TensorFlow library was compiled to use AVX instructions, but these aren't available on your machine.

$ docker ps -a

CONTAINER ID IMAGE COMMAND CREATED STATUS