What is the recommended approach for handling different entities?

How do you handle this situation for a restaurant reservation bot:

I want to book a table for 3 people

If this is the user input, the user intent to book table is extracted and the no of people “3” is also extracted.

But what if the user only says,

I want to book a table

They don’t mention the number of people. If that is the case how do I detect they have not said the number of people and ask them something like “How many guests would be there?”

This is how I am writing the intent.

intent:book_table

• i want to book a table
  • book table
  • reserve table
  • can i reserve a table?
  • book seat
  • make a reservation
  • i want to book a table for 3 people
  • book table for 3 people
  • reserve table for 3 people
  • can i reserve a table for 3 people?
  • book seat for 3 people
  • make a reservation for 3 people

Sorry, this maybe a silly question but I am a noob in conversational AI and RASA is my first attempt at building one. Could you guys help me out?

Hi @navendu-pottekkat. You situation is a perfect use case for slots. You can define a number of people as a slot with a type text and then write a few training stories which would teach your assistant to ask for this details if it wasn’t provided.

If there are more details like this which are necessary for your assistant to perform a specific action, you may consider using forms. Forms allow to define required slots which then makes sure that those slots are provided before moving forward.

You can find more info on that in our documentation. Have a look and if you have more questions, let me know :slight_smile:

1 Like

Thanks for the reply!

So if these slots are not filled i.e the user only provided the info “I want to book a table” then the bot should ask “How many people?”. If the slot is filled, then the bot can straight away book the table. Is that right?

How would I implement it? Is there a straightforward way?