Using RASA in education to build "social practice" dialogues

Hi all

In my possible incoming research project, I’d like to use RASA 2 to build a Italian language learning assistant that implement social practice dialogues, to be used by foreigners students learning Italian language at L2/A1 level (very basic).

In my initial idea, the chatbot could be thought as a set of different “scenes” where the user practices conversations in different daily life situations, talking with different people on each situation, e.g.

• the learner go to the post office and talk with the employee to send a parcel
  • the learner go to the grocery market to buy some food and talk with the merchant,
  • the learner, that has some injury, call by the emergency phone number to be assisted by an operator
  • etc. etc.

Question:

Technically, in terms of stories/rules is not clear to me (I used RASA 1.8 times ago… and let say I’m a beginner now), Is not clear to me how to organize these (almost independent) scenes/exercises.

Maybe it’s just a matter of arrange “entry-point intents” corresponding to each scene, where each of these intents activate a separated scene/story flow. Does it make sense? Do I need to set-up a RASA rule for each exercise instead?

BTW, possibly consider a “scene” as a social practice situation (the user at the post office). So maybe a scene correspond to many RASA stories.

There is any other approach you could suggest me? Any suggestion is welcome.

Besides, and independently from the conversational design, I want to demonstrate the validity of a “low code” / crowdsourcing capabilities of RASA (X), allowing teachers/authors to collaborates creating/testing/ a collaborative/open-data repository set of scenes/dialogues (in this case concerning Italian language learning).

Thanks

Giorgio

Hi! First of all – this sounds like a very interesting project, looking forward to seeing how it develops.