Testing custom component

Hello everybody,

I am new to Rasa, and I have the following question.

I have introduced a new custom component to my code, that adds a new entity called “name” to my already existent entities.

I started writing a python code that sends a request to the server, and prints the values of my entities, but I understand that the new entity “name” that I have introduced is not recognized.

Is there any way, to get the value of the new entity ?

If you send the message to Rasa by API (using requests), you can read the slot values from the tracker store. I use mongodb to persist the tracker store, (see the endpoints.yml file), so I can access it directly using pymongo.

Here’s how I read the slot values:

from pymongo import MongoClient

mongocli = MongoClient('mongodb://mongo:27017')

#rasa db is the same as set in the endpoints.yml tracker store.
rasa = mongocli['rasa']
conversations_iago = rasa['conversations']

# tester is the user_id used to submit the messages
user_id = 'tester'

slots_found = conversations_iago.find({ 'sender_id': str(user_id) }, { 'slots': 1 } )

for row in slots_found:
        slots = dict(row['slots'])

Hello samscudder thank you so much for your answer, but I think I didn’t explain what I want to do very well.

So I have a list of sentences called “examples”.

What I need to do is simply print the value of the new entity “name” introduced by my custom component.

The thing is that, the new entity “name” is not recognized.

It looks like no entity extraction is happening… Are you hitting the right intent? Try printing out or logging the value of resp_json to see what Rasa is returning.

PS: I guess you know this, but the loop is wrong. It should be for i in range(0, len(examples)): or for example in examples: and then you’d use params = { "text": example } (example instead of examples[i]).

The way it stands, you’re throwing a 'int' object is not iterable error.