Run rasa outside of command line

Hi there,

I’m relatively new to RASA, and built my chatbot based on the tutorial, which runs it on cmd. I used the same files, and made some custom actions as well. It works great in the cmd, but since we want to run it on an actual robot together with asr and tts and everything, I need to be independent from the cmd.

So, I want to run my chatbot without being dependent on the command line, and I think I need to make a run.py file for that. However, I’ve looked at some examples, like the restaurantbot and the weatherbot, but the run.py files always differ and I have no idea how to correctly compose one and what should be in there, what not and so on…

Can anyone please help me? Thank you!

Hi @ellav . Happy to help you out with this :slight_smile:

First question - which version of Rasa are you running? If you are using Rasa 1.0, you don’t need to create any files to run your bot bot anymore. Instead, you need only three things:

1. Create a connector between the Rasa and your frontend. Unless you use one of the already pre-built connectors, you will likely need to create a custom connector which will collect the user inputs from your frontend and pass them to Rasa and vise versa. I could help you out with more details on that if you could tell me more about what frontend you are planning to use for your assistant.

2. Provide the details to your connector in the credentials.yml file (check out the example here.

3. Run you assistant on a server using ‘rasa run --enable-api’ (this will start the Rasa server which you will get a request sent to it once the user asks something using the frontend)