Rasa story condition

Hello, I’am using rasa 3.5.3 (latest version released in 2023) and I’m very new with it. I have defined this story below

• story: interview_po_1 steps:

• intent: greet
    • action: utter_greet
    • action: utter_ready_check
    • intent: candidate_ready
    • action: utter_company_pres_po
    • action: utter_any_questions
    • intent: affirm
    • action: utter_hr_follow_up
    • intent: candidate_question
    • action: utter_noted
    • intent: deny
    • action: utter_pres_question1
    • intent: pres_answer1
    • action: utter_feedback

This story is not working as intended, what I want this story to achieve is: When the bots gets to “utter_any_questions” he basically asks the user if he has any questions , the user will deny or affirm wether he has questions or not. If he affirms the bot goes through

• action: utter_hr_follow_up

• intent: candidate_question

• action: utter_noted

if he denies the bot is intended to skip that part and move on to the rest of the story that is defined right under the intent “deny”

I have a feeling that rasa has something for conditional cases in stories.yml but I couldn’t find it, if you know anything that could help please let me know :slight_smile:

Hi,

I believe you can use Checkpoints, although it is not generally recommended to overuse them. You can however ensure that your story is progressing as you intended it to using checkpoints at appropriate locations of the story. For example, you can use utter_any_questions as a checkpoint for the story to branch out into two different stories - one if they user affirms and another if the user denies.

Please do note that it would be better to split your story into different parts, each corresponding to a specific task, so that you can have clarity as well as debug issues easily.

Finally, I believe that it is better to build stories using rasa interactive. Please consider it.

1 Like