New to RASA 2 - entity extraction for large lists

Hello,

I am new to Rasa, working with 2.x and I have a question in relation to entities.

I have a simple list of specific cities (around 200) I want to use for entity lookup and validate within a form. Synonyms seem to be a reasonable approach as these normalize to my values, but do I need to create intent training examples for all my values? For example, if I have 10 intent variations, do I multiply this by the 200 cities in essence meaning 2000 training examples?

Is there a better approach? I am using the default config i.e. DIET classifier.

Any advice very welcome!

Thanks

1 Like

Hey @pomegran, welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Before we go down the rabbit hole that is creating 2000 training examples: Have you considered using RegexEntityExtractor for your city entity? I think it’s meant exactly for cases like yours.

Hi Sam,

Agreed, creating thousands of examples is a terrible idea!

I went down the “lookup” route which is a case-insensitive RegEx route (according to the docs). I would like to ask though if this is expected behaviour …

1. Created a simple entity marked up with a city entity
  2. Created a list of cities in a lookup
  • intent: what_is_weather_like examples: |
  • lookup: city examples: |
    • berlin
    • london
    • stockholm
    • barcelona
    • rome
    • madrid
    • worcester
    • gloucester
    • birmingham
    • cheltenham
    • chelters
    • chelts

This works ok but I can’t use synonyms to normalize, so I do that in my validation_city method instead for the slot. This works fine (with a little bit of work but it works great!).

However, even though I have trained the entity city to appear late on in my intent examples, I get this response for the input “berlin whats the weather like in cheltenham”

"text": "berlin whats the weather like in cheltenham",
  "intent": {
    "id": 8382829466045491448,
    "name": "what_is_weather_like",
    "confidence": 0.983062207698822