How to set slots from an external post request?

Hi… Here I am trying to send some data wanting to be set in the slots. data is sent from a separate API.

• In case you mean you want to SEND data from an API to the bot:

You can send entities with a payload like /inform{'username': user.username}. Of course, the entity will need to Auto-fill the slot.

• In case you mean you want to RECIEVE data from an API:

Call that API in a Custom Action, and at the end of the run() method, return [SlotSet('username', user['username'])] for example.

You can do it in custom action.

from rasa_sdk.events import SlotSet
class CustomAction(Action):
    def run(self, dispatcher: CollectingDispatcher,
            tracker: Tracker,
            domain: Dict[Text, Any]) -> List[Dict[Text, Any]]:
    return [SlotSet('some_slot', 'some_value')]

@ChrisRahme Thank you for the reply, I am following the first case of your answer which is to SEND data from an API to the bot, Since I am new to Rasa Framework It would be great if you can elaborate on the answer by considering the above context.

Please NOTE that…

-I need to set multiple slots from a single payload

-I have Installed Rasa

-Currently using Two Commands - rasa shell and rasa run actions.

Thank you

@ivan.dmi Thanks for the reply and this will surely help me in my future work. and my requirement is to SEND data from an API to the bot. It is great if you can elaboratively explain to me, what would be the URL to do the POST call and How to include multiple slots that are to be set.

moreover, you can refer to my reply to ChrisRahme (above)

Thank you.

No problem, if I’m not clear don’t be afraid to ask for more explanations :slight_smile:

To send a message to the Rasa Server, you will need to send a POST request containing the message (in this case, more particularly, payload), and the sender ID. You can test this out via Postman like so: