How do I get import myFile to work? (importing into actions.py)

I have a separate python script, saved within the same directory as the actions.py, that I made. I want to import that file into my actions.py file so that I can expand upon the features while keeping an orderly/well organized system. I have had zero issues importing other libraries; However, all other libraries are from 3rd parties. I am wondering if you cannot import your own files? Anyway, please let me know if I am stupid or this is just not possible. I am just not familiar with python enough I guess.

1 Like

You can definitely import your own file! It sound like what you’re looking for is called a relative import. So for example:

from . import myFile

or:

from .myFile import my_function

2 Likes

Thank you so much @fkoerner! Wow, that’s embarrassing. I am brand new to python, so hopefully my issue is excusable for beginners. :face_with_raised_eyebrow:

2 Likes

You’re welcome! No need to be embarrassed: everyone starts as a beginner :slight_smile:

Happy bot-building!

2 Likes

Hello @fkoerner! Sorry, I know that’s not Rasa related but…

I’ve written helper functions and global variables in actions.py.

If I want to split my actions file into let’s say, an action file for a particular form, an action file for this kind of responses, etc.

So, in the main actions.py file, I can import the other files. But if a custom action needs to access a helper function defined in actions.py, do I need to import the files in each other? For example:

• actions.py: from . import other_actions
  • other_actions.py: from . import actions