Having trouble validating form slots where a user send text reply instead of using payload buttons

Hello, I’m still new to rasa open source and i’m having trouble with my form validation action. Bascially, I have a form where the slots are filled using enitites directly from the payload i.e.

utter_ask_Form_q1:
  - buttons:
    - title: "5 - optionx"
      payload: '/inform{{"result1": 5 }}'
    - title: "4 - optiony"
      payload: '/inform{{"result1": 4 }}'
    - title: "3 - optionz"
      payload: '/inform{{"result1": 3  }}'

The entities and slots from domain are defined as follows:

entities:
  - result1

slots:
  result1:
    type: any
    mappings:
    - type: from_entity
      entity: result1

what i want for my validation is when a user decides to type in answer instead of choosing i.e send number 3 for [3 - optionz] instead of the payload for it to be validated via a valildation action… so in this case since it will be in the list of acceptable numbers [5,4,3]. Otherwise a number not in the list gets its value returned as None.

my validate action look like this:

numlist = [ 5, 3, 4]

class ValidateForm(FormValidationAction):

def name(self) -> Text:
         return "validate_Form"

def validate_result1(self,
         slot_value: Any,
         dispatcher: CollectingDispatcher,
         tracker: Tracker,
         domain: DomainDict,
     ) -> Dict[Text, Any]:

''' validate result1 from question '''
         if slot_value not in numlist:
             dispatcher.utter_message(text=f"Answer not recorded. Please choose from the available choices given")
             return {"result1": None}

return {"result1": slot_value}