Rasa NLU classification in intent subsets

Hello!

My question is related to Restrict NLU parsing to a subset of intents.

Rasa NLU is stateless but I wonder if that makes impossible to select a subset of the intents used in training to classify users input. I’m not an expert on machine learning so I fall short on how Rasa models are trained and used for queries.

I think it would be a great feature to include a context tag to intent training data, something like:

## intent: general:greet
- Hello
- Hi there

## intent: general:service_inquery
- What can you do for me?
- What services you provide?

## intent: flightbooking:book
- I want to book a flight
- Can you help me book a flight?

## intent: flightbooking:refund
- Can you help me refund a ticket
- I need to refund a flight

And add a parameter to the API so we can select contexts for evaluation:

{
  "text": "I need to book a flight",
  "context": "flightbooking"
}

I’m considering using RASA NLU for a an existing project that uses a NLU module based on string matching and regular expressions. I already refactored that module in something that allows me to plugin and compare NLU modules and I would love to try Rasa and assess the results. I plan to build a docker container and use the Rasa NLU Api, to do intent matching. Response generation is already implemented within the project.

What you recommend for this?

Is it possible to use different trained model within a single Rasa installation so I could have a process that would build a different model for each context?

Thanks for your help!

This isn’t something that Rasa offers out of the box but I’m curious to hear more about your use case. You seem to want to pass a context along as input.