Calling custom actions in Python unittest

Hi all,

A short disclaimer: I am new to Python and have very little professional programming experience. So suspect that my question will be quite silly for someone who knows what they are doing.

This question is close to what has been asked here: How do you test Custom Actions before using them with a bot? - unfortunately I am not really able to translate what is done in rasa/test_actions.py at master · RasaHQ/rasa · GitHub to my attempt of using unittest instead of pytest.

Consider the following minimal example:

$ cat actions/actions.py

class ActionFoo(Action):
    def name(self):
        return "action_foo"

def run(self, dispatcher, tracker, domain):
        // do business logic and send a response
        dispatcher.utter_message(message)
        return []
$ cat actions/test_actions.py

import unittest

from rasa_sdk import Action, Tracker
from rasa_sdk.executor import CollectingDispatcher
from rasa_sdk.types import DomainDict

import actions
from actions import (
    ActionFoo,
)

class TestActionSearchRestaurant(unittest.TestCase):

def testAction(self):
        ActionFoo.run(self, CollectingDispatcher(), Tracker, DomainDict)

if __name__ == '__main__':
    unittest.main()

I am stuck at the part where I can actually call the ActionFoo classes “run” function and check if the output is expected. I know that the function accepts “(self, dispatcher, tracker, domain)”, but I am struggling to “mock” those in my Python test. Right now, I don’t get any errors, but no message back either:

$ python actions/test_actions.py 
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Ran 1 test in 0.000s

OK

I assume that one needs to fill the Tracker, Domain etc. with mock data to simulate user interaction, but I don’t quite get it.

Where is my mistake / false assumption /etc.?

Thanks!